COGAIN Symposium:
Communication by Gaze Interaction

Wuppertal, Germany • August 19th and 21st, 2017

In collaboration with:

Important dates

Submission due: April 22nd
April 29th
Acceptance notice: May 13th
May 15th
Camera-ready: May 20th
May 29th
Registration: June 15th
Workshop: August 19th
Symposium: August 21st


General co-chairs
Andreas Bulling
Carlos H. Morimoto

Program co-chairs
John Paulin Hansen
Roman Bednarik

Information for authors

All submissions must be made electronically at EasyChair.

Authors are invited to submit original work as a two-page extended abstract plus one page with references. The abstract section of the two-page version must contain up to 200 words. This abstract section with 200 words will be published in JEMR along with all ECEM abstracts. The two-page extended abstract will be distributed to workshop participants and should follow the JEMR paper format (see below).

Acceptable abstracts should have a clear topical connection to gaze interaction. Please do not submit an abstract of a work that you are planning to do and have not actually started to work on.

Review process

The review process of the 2017 COGAIN Symposium will be "double blind". All submissions must be appropriately anonymized to conceal the identities of the authors and their institutions.

Submission process

The extended abstract must be submitted by 11:59 pm PDT, April 22nd 29th, 2017.

To do so, you must:

  • login or create an account at EasyChair;
  • make a new submission for COGAIN 2017;
  • fill out the submission form;
  • submit your extended abstract.

No new submissions will be allowed after the deadline.

Camera ready format

The camera ready version of your extended abstract should be sent as a PDF file to and should not exceed the 2 pages limit, plus an extra page with references only. It should be prepared using one of the following templates:

Please, also submit your 200-word abstract to ConfTool, following the instructions you must have received directly from ECEM.


After the acceptance notice, authors must prepare and submit the camera-ready version of the extended abstract. Authors can have their extended abstract available online as part of the 2017 COGAIN Symposium program.

At least one author of each accepted extended abstract must register by June 1st, 2017. Authors not registered by this deadline will not have their abstracts included in the Symposium program.

Program Co-Chairs

For more information please contact the program co-chairs:

  • John Paulin Hansen (jpha [at], Technical University of Denmark
  • Roman Bednarik (roman.bednarik [at], University of Eastern Finland